FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS
WE HAVE THE ANSWERS
What do I have to do to get a medical marijuana recommendation?
You must be personally examined by a doctor, like ours at Marijuana Care Clinic, who is certified to prescribe medical marijuana, and be diagnosed with one of the qualifying conditions. The doctor determines that you have a qualifying condition, and that the potential benefits of taking medical marijuana outweighs the risks. The doctor then registers you in the Medical Marijuana Use Registry so that you can receive a medical marijuana card.
What is a medical marijuana care card and how do I get one?
A medical marijuana card is a photo ID card issued by the Florida Department of Health. When you go to a medical marijuana treatment center you must provide a Medical Marijuana Use Registry identification card to obtain medical marijuana, or a marijuana delivery device. The card may also be used to verify that a patient or legal representative is in the Department of Health’s Medical Marijuana Use Registry.
Once your doctor has registered you with the Florida Medical Marijuana Use Registry, you can apply for a medical marijuana card. You will receive an email with a link to fill out the application on the Office of Compassionate Use website. Your application will be reviewed and, if approved, a medical marijuana card will be sent to you through the mail.
Allow 30 days for the review of your application. There is a $75 application fee.
Note: You can only receive a card by going through the registration process with a qualified physician, and then applying online.
What is the Medical Marijuana Use Registry?
The Medical Marijuana Use Registry is a secure, online database of ordering physicians and qualified medical marijuana patients. It is maintained by the Florida Department of Health’s Office of Medical Marijuana Use.
It is accessible to ordering physicians, law enforcement, dispensing organization staff, and Office of Medical Marijuana Use staff.
Can I renew my prescription for medical marijuana?
Yes. After the initial 70 day prescription you may schedule a follow up visit for additional 70 day prescriptions.
To maintain an active Medical Marijuana Use Registry identification card, a patient and/or legal representative must annually submit a renewal application, along with the application fee and any required accompanying documents to the department forty-five (45) days prior to the card expiration date.
How much does a medical marijuana renewal cost?
A New Patient Visit to obtain your medical marijuana prescription card in our office is $159. A Follow Up Visit is $159. All visits include an evaluation for flower/smokeable medical marijuana.
What is your refund policy?
If you cancel before 48 hours of your appointment, no fee will be charged. Due to the high demand of patients waiting to be seen, there is a $25 fee for any no-show, rescheduled, or cancelled appointment with less than a 48 hour notice. There are no refunds issued after your have received your recommendations from our doctors.
What qualifications are required for a care giver of a medical marijuana patient?
A caregiver must be 21 years old, and complete a caregiver certification course which costs up to $100. The caregiver must pass a background check if he or she is not a close relative of the patient.
The caregiver must be the patient’s legal guardian or have a medical power of attorney.
No more than one caregiver may be designated for each patient, unless that patient is a minor. Only one patient can be assigned to one caregiver.
A caregiver may be employed through hospice.
The caregiver will be registered along with the patient in the Medical Marijuana Registry, and will receive a medical marijuana card which must be presented with a photo ID when picking up or signing for a medical marijuana prescription.
Do I have to be a Florida Resident? If so, how do I prove I am?
If you are full time Florida resident then you must bring a valid Florida Drivers License or Identification Card.
If you are a seasonal Florida resident, you must show a photo ID along with one of the following:
- Copy of your lease agreement or house deed
- Utility bill no more than 45 days old
What are the medical marijuana requirements for “seasonal residents” or ‘snowbirds?”
The term “seasonal resident” means any person who temporarily resides in this state for a period of at least 31 consecutive days in each calendar year, maintains a temporary residence in this state, returns to the state or jurisdiction of his or her residence at least one time during each calendar year, and is registered to vote or pays income tax in another state or jurisdiction.
Can I smoke medical marijuana?
Yes, if the doctor determines that you qualify, you may obtain a prescription for smoking medical marijuana flower.
Do I have to be over 18 years of age to get a medical marijuana prescription?
No. Patients younger than 18 can obtain a medical marijuana prescription with the accompaniment of a parent or legal guardian.
What is the difference between low-THC and medical cannabis?
Low-THC marijuana is defined as containing 0.8 percent or less of the psychoactive compound tetrahydrocannabinol (THC), and more than 10 percent of cannabidiol (CBD). Low-THC marijuana typically does not produce the euphoria (high) often associated with medical cannabis.
Some medical conditions, like seizures, anxiety, pain, and insomnia, respond best to low-THC, high CBD marijuana. Conditions characterized by chronic pain, depression, fatigue, nausea, wasting, and gastrointestinal disorders respond to high-THC medical cannabis.
When ordering marijuana for a patient, the doctor must specify whether the order is for low-THC marijuana or medical cannabis.
Where can I buy medical marijuana?
We will provide you with a list of the current medical marijuana treatment centers that are authorized to dispense medical marijuana to qualified patients and their caretakers.
You can have your medical marijuana order delivered by courier.
Can I provide you with my existing medical records?
Yes. We encourage you to send us your records in advance of your appointment so our doctor can review your case. Our fax number is 407-288-8607
Do you accept medical insurance?
No. Medical marijuana is still prohibited at the Federal level, therefore, we are unable to file with medical insurance. Marijuana Care Clinic will provide a receipt upon payment that can be submitted to your insurance company for reimbursement if allowed. We accept cash, major credit cards, and have convenient and cost effective membership plans.
How can I schedule an appointment with Marijuana Care Clinic?
You can schedule your appointment online or by calling our office at 407-751-5005 during regular business hours.
How much are the visits to see the doctor?
New Patient Certification visits cost $99. Follow Up Visits, which are required every 70 days, cost $79.
How often do I need to see the doctor?
Florida law requires that patients must be seen for an in-person examination at minimum of once every 210 days. We strongly encourage follow up visits every 70 days to monitor effectiveness and make adjustments to medication. The cost of follow up visits are $79, payable by cash or charge.
What can I expect at my visit?
For your initial certification appointment, you should arrive 10-15 minutes early. Please allow 30-45 minutes for your initial certification appointment. Upon arrival you will check into our office and we will review all of your paperwork to make sure it is filled out properly. If you have seen another doctor for your condition and haven’t already sent us your records, we will have you complete a medical records request form so we can send off for information documenting your condition. Then we will accept your payment (our services must be paid prior to them being rendered).
From there, you’ll be taken to the exam room and either the doctor or a medical assistant will take your vitals. The doctor will then perform a full physical examination and develop a treatment plan based upon your exam findings and health history. Prior to leaving our office we will make sure all of your questions have been answered and we will schedule you for all of your follow up appointments right away to ensure there is no lapse in your prescription.
What conditions qualify for medical marijuana?
The following qualifying conditions are specified within the state Constitution:
Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD).
Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS).
Multiple sclerosis (MS).
A Terminal Condition
Medical conditions of the same kind or class as or comparable to those enumerated
*Chronic pain may only be a qualifying condition if the patient has another qualifying condition.
Other potential qualifying conditions of similar class include the following:
Chronic Pain (any kind)
Chemotherapy Side Effects
Essential Tremor (Kinetic)
Inflammatory Bowel Disease
Irritable Bowel Syndrome
Myasthenia Gravis (MG)
Radiation Therapy Side Effects
Sickle Cell Anemia
Ulcerative Colitis (UC)